

Members

Erik Anderson Joycelyn Austin-Mabe Lisa Blandi John Cole William DeWitt William Dolan Gary Elgort Anthony Graham (Chair) Mark Hilton (Vice-Chair) Bruce Jabbour Dan Peterson Janice Six Kevin Trainor M. Favil West Eddie Williams

Liaisons

Clark County Consolidated Group of Tribes and Organizations Elko County Commission Esmeralda County Commission Lincoln County Commission Nye County Commission Nye County Commission Nye County Emergency Management Nye County Natural Resources and Federal Facilities Office State of Nevada Division of Environmental Protection U.S. National Park Service White Pine County Commission

Administration

Robert Boehlecke, Deputy Designated Federal Officer (DDFO) U.S. Department of Energy, EM Nevada Program Barbara Ulmer, Administrator Navarro, Contractor for the U.S. Department of Energy, EM Nevada Program

Nevada Site Specific Advisory Board

July 26, 2023

DDFO Robert Boehlecke U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Environmental Management (EM) Nevada Program 100 N. City Parkway, Suite 1750 Las Vegas, NV 89106

SUBJECT: Recommendation for Sampling Plan for Pahute Mesa Corrective Action Units [CAUs] (Work Plan Item #4)

Dear DDFO Boehlecke,

The Nevada Site Specific Advisory Board (NSSAB) was asked to provide a recommendation, from a community perspective, to the DOE on improvement and/or refinement for the Pahute Mesa Groundwater Sampling Plan.

In support of the scope of this work plan item, Ken Rehfeldt, Navarro's Underground Test Area Manager, conducted a presentation and answered questions during the July 19, 2023 NSSAB Full Board Meeting. Mr. Rehfeldt briefed on the current status of the Pahute Mesa CAUs; methods of sample collection; sampling results; and background, description, recent changes, and future of the Pahute Mesa Sampling Plan. The Board was also provided with the Pahute Mesa Groundwater Sampling Plan to review in advance of the meeting.

After Board discussion, the NSSAB recommends that the DOE EM Nevada Program 'stay the course' with the current sampling plan for Pahute Mesa CAUs.

The NSSAB thanks Mr. Rehfeldt for his time briefing and answering questions on this important topic and looks forward to future updates on Pahute Mesa on its progress to closure.

Sincerely,

Anthony Graham, Chair

cc: Kelly Snyder, DOE/HQ (EM-4.32) Michelle Hudson, DOE/HQ (EM-4.32) Glenn Puit, Navarro Ken Rehfeldt, Navarro Barbara Ulmer, Navarro NSSAB Members and Liaisons John Myers, EM Bill Wilborn, EM