

Members

Erik Anderson Joycelyn Austin-Mabe Lisa Blandi John Cole William Dolan Gary Elgort Anthony Graham (Chair) Mark Hilton (Vice-Chair) Bruce Jabbour Dan Peterson Janice Six Kevin Trainor M. Favil West Eddie Williams

Liaisons

Clark County Consolidated Group of Tribes and Organizations Elko County Commission Esmeralda County Commission Lincoln County Commission Nye County Commission Nye County Emergency Management Nye County Natural Resources and Federal Facilities Office State of Nevada Division of Environmental Protection U.S. National Park Service White Pine County Commission

Administration

Robert Boehlecke, Deputy Designated Federal Officer (DDFO) U.S. Department of Energy, EM Nevada Program Barbara Ulmer, Administrator Navarro, Contractor for the U.S. Department of Energy, EM Nevada Program

Nevada Site Specific Advisory Board

November 22, 2023

DDFO Robert Boehlecke U.S. Department of Energy Environmental Management (EM) Nevada Program 100 N. City Parkway, Suite 1750 Las Vegas, NV 89106

SUBJECT: Recommendation for Updates to the Federal Facility Agreement and Consent Order [FFACO] (Work Plan Item #6)

Dear DDFO Boehlecke,

The Nevada Site Specific Advisory Board (NSSAB) was asked to provide a recommendation, from a community perspective, to the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) on improvements or enhancements to Appendix V, *Public Involvement Plan* and the new Appendix VII, *Post-Closure Strategy* of the FFACO.

In support of the scope of this work plan item, the NSSAB was provided copies of Appendix V and VII to review prior to the meeting. Tiffany Gamero, DOE's Regulatory/FFACO Lead, conducted a work plan presentation and answered questions during the November 8, 2023 NSSAB Full Board Meeting on the topic.

After Board discussion, the NSSAB recommends that the EM Nevada Program accept Appendix V, *Public Involvement Plan* and the new Appendix VII, *Post-Closure Strategy* of the FFACO as written.

The NSSAB thanks Ms. Gamero for her work plan briefing and also to Irene Farnham, Navarro's Environmental Scientist, for her overview of the FFACO during the September 20, 2023 Full Board Meeting.

Sincerely,

Anthony Graham, Chair

cc: Kelly Snyder, DOE/HQ (EM-4.32) Michelle Hudson, DOE/HQ (EM-4.32) Irene Farnham, Navarro Dona Murphy, Navarro Glenn Puit, Navarro Barbara Ulmer, Navarro NSSAB Members and Liaisons Tiffany Gamero, EM Bill Wilborn, EM