U.S. Department of Energy



Members

Erik Anderson Joycelyn Austin-Mabe Lisa Blandi John Cole William Dolan Gary Elgort Anthony Graham *(Chair)*

Mark Hilton (Vice-Chair)
Bruce Jabbour
Dan Peterson
Janice Six
Kevin Trainor
M. Favil West
Eddie Williams

Liaisons

Clark County
Consolidated Group of Tribes
and Organizations
Elko County Commission
Esmeralda County Commission
Lincoln County Commission
Nye County Commission
Nye County Emergency
Management
Nye County Natural Resources and
Federal Facilities Office
State of Nevada Division of
Environmental Protection
U.S. National Park Service
White Pine County Commission

Administration

Robert Boehlecke, Deputy
Designated Federal Officer (DDFO)
U.S. Department of Energy,
EM Nevada Program
Barbara Ulmer, Administrator
Navarro, Contractor for the U.S.
Department of Energy,
EM Nevada Program

Nevada Site Specific Advisory Board

November 13, 2023

Ms. Kelly Snyder EM SSAB & EMAB Designated Federal Officer (DFO) U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Ave. SW Washington DC 20024

Mr. Robert Boehlecke, Deputy DFO U.S. Department of Energy Environmental Management Nevada Program 100 N. City Parkway, Suite 1750 Las Vegas, NV 89106

SUBJECT: Recommendation for Scheduling Future Environmental Management (EM) Site-Specific Advisory Board (SSAB) National Chairs' Meetings

Dear Ms. Snyder and Mr. Boehlecke,

The fall EM SSAB National Chairs' meeting scheduled for the week of October 2, 2023 in Oak Ridge, Tennessee was canceled on short notice. A number of questions and concerns were raised concerning the cancellation and, in order to plan effectively for the future, the Nevada Site Specific Advisory Board (NSSAB) discussed this matter at length.

After careful consideration, the NSSAB recommends that no NSSAB or EM SSAB National Chairs' meeting be planned or scheduled to begin later than the twentieth (20th) day of September or during the month of October in any federal fiscal year and that a back-up digital option be available in case unforeseen circumstances require cancellation of an in-person meeting.

Sincerely,

Anthony Graham, Chair

cc: Joceline Nahigian, DOE/HQ (EM-2.22) Glenn Puit, Navarro Barbara Ulmer, Navarro NSSAB Members and Liaisons Tiffany Gamero, EM Bill Wilborn, EM