Clark High School crowned Nevada Science Bowl champions

Nevada Science Bowl Clark High School
Clark High School won first place and a $5,000 check at the 2018 Nevada Science Bowl.

Clark High School was crowned champion during the 27th annual regional Nevada Science Bowl, hosted by the Nevada National Security Site at Vegas PBS on Saturday, Feb. 3.

The Clark students took home a $5,000 first prize for their math/science department and won a free trip to Washington D.C. in April to compete in the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Science Bowl, the largest and most prestigious national science competition.

Nevada Science Bowl features a fast-paced, nine-round format where students “buzz-in” and answer tough questions covering biology, chemistry, physics, mathematics, astronomy and more. Thirty-two teams from 29 high schools competed for first place, and the top 12 teams received cash prizes for their school’s math/science department. The final six teams were all from Clark County public high schools, with Coronado taking second place ($2,500), Palo Verde placing third ($1,500), Rancho taking fourth ($1,000), and Green Valley and Clark’s second team tying for fifth ($500 each).

The more than 150 Nevada participants joined 15,000 other high school students across the United States in an effort to qualify for the finals.

Nevada Science Bowl sponsors include: U.S. Department of Energy National Nuclear Security Administration Nevada Field Office (signature sponsor), Mission Support and Test Services LLC, Bureau of Reclamation, Vegas PBS and Navarro. Longtime local personality Nathan Tannenbaum served as master of ceremonies.

Participating schools included (located in Southern Nevada unless otherwise noted): Advanced Technologies Academy, Arbor View High School, Bishop Manogue High School (Reno, Nevada), Cedar City High School (Cedar City, Utah), Centennial High School, Clark High School (two teams), Coral Academy of Science-Las Vegas, Coral Academy of Science-Reno, Coronado High School, The Davidson Academy of Nevada (Reno, Nevada), Douglas High School (Minden, Nevada), Faith Lutheran High School, Foothill High School, Green Valley High School (two teams), Laughlin High School, Legacy High School, Liberty High School, The Meadows School, Northwest Career & Technical Academy (two teams), Pahrump High School, Pershing County High School (Lovelock, Nevada), Palo Verde High School, Rancho High School, Reno High School (Reno, Nevada), Sierra Vista High School, Southeast Career & Technical Academy, Timpview High School (Provo, Utah), West Career & Technical Academy, and Whittell High School (Zephyr Cove, Nevada).

In addition to the teachers and students, the Nevada Science Bowl would not be possible without the many volunteers who make it a success each year. Thank you!

For more information on the Nevada Science Bowl, visit@NevadaScienceBowlon Facebook. For more information on the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Science Bowl, visit: