Clark Science Bowl winners 2018

Nevada Science Bowl to crown new champions Feb. 2

Clark Science Bowl winners 2018

A new team of high school students will be crowned champions of the annual Nevada Science Bowl competition Saturday, Feb. 2. First-prize titleholders are awarded $5,000 and will advance to the National Science Bowl in Washington, D.C., April 25-29.

Now in its 28th year, the competition features 32 teams from 25 high schools in Nevada and Utah. Students answer questions from science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields in a fast-paced format throughout nine rounds. Students prepare for months leading up to the Nevada Science Bowl, hosted by the Nevada National Security Site. The competition heats begin at 7:30 a.m. at Vegas PBS with the grand-prize announcement at approximately 5:30 p.m. The top 12 teams will receive cash prizes for their school’s math and science departments.

Las Vegas’ Clark High School (pictured here) is the reigning titleholder. Each year, more than 15,000 students compete nationally for the opportunity to represent their school at the DOE’s National Science Bowl, the largest and most prestigious science competition in the country.