five students holding big fake check, plaque and banner for winning Nevada Science Bowl

Undefeated: Davidson Academy claims first place, continues winning streak in annual Nevada Science Bowl competition

five students holding big fake check, plaque and banner for winning Nevada Science Bowl
Davidson Academy Team One, winners of the 32nd annual Nevada Science Bowl.

Following two years of virtual competitions, the 32nd annual Nevada Science Bowl took place in person Saturday, Feb. 4. Twenty-four teams of students from 18 high schools were tested in a fast-paced, question-and-answer format competition, where they showcased their knowledge of science disciplines, including biology, chemistry, earth science, physics, energy and math.

Each year more than 15,000 students compete nationally for the opportunity to represent their school at the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Science Bowl, the largest and most prestigious science competition in the country.

Davidson Academy repeated as back-to-back (and back-to-back) Nevada Science Bowl champions, defending their 2020, 2021 and 2022 first-place titles, and once again securing a spot to represent Nevada at the National Science Bowl. The math and science departments at Davidson Academy will be awarded a total of $8,000 – $5,000 for Team One earning first place and $3,000 for Team Two earning second place. The National Science Bowl competition will take place in Washington, D.C., April 27-May 1.

five students holding big fake check, plaque and banner for winning Nevada Science Bowl
Davidson Academy Team One, winners of the 32nd annual Nevada Science Bowl.

The top eight teams received cash prizes for their school’s math and science departments. Clark High School took home third place and $1,500, while Coronado High School finished fourth and earned $1,000. Additional placing teams included: Advanced Technologies Academy, Green Valley High School (Team One), Reno High School and Coral Academy Las Vegas Sandy Ridge (Team Two).

The Nevada Science Bowl is made possible by the support of sponsors and tireless efforts of numerous volunteers. The 2023 sponsors of the Nevada Science Bowl include the U.S. Department of Energy National Nuclear Security Administration Nevada Field Office (signature sponsor), Mission Support and Test Services LLC (platinum sponsor), and Environmental Management Nevada Environmental Program Services.

five students and a teacher pose with medals and big fake check for taking 2nd place at Nevada Science Bowl
Second place winners: Davidson Academy Team Two.
room with students and adults sitting at tables for Nevada Science Bowl competition
Nevada Science Bowl competition room.

“I am honored to contribute in a small way to the Department of Energy’s sponsorship of the 2023 Science Bowl. With events like these, we encourage our best and brightest to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering, and math. Today’s Science Bowl participants will become tomorrow’s leaders and will solve the future technical challenges facing our nation and our world,” said Dr. David Bowman, Nevada Field Office Manager.

two female students in blue jackets sitting at a table waiting for a question during Nevada Science Bowl competition
Student competitors wait for a question during Nevada Science Bowl.
David Bowman in gray jacket standing and talking into microphone in a cafeteria
Nevada Field Office Manager Dr. David Bowman welcomes teams to the 32nd annual Nevada Science Bowl.

The NNSS would like to thank the following individuals for donating their time and representing the NNSS: Marilew Bartling, Jessica Beck, Steven Beck, Mike Bemski, Benjamin Brandt, Courtney Brown, Brendan Collins, Logan Davis, Lyle Davis, Eric Eckert, Brian Elledge, Kristi Elledge, Mateo Fa’afiu, Debi Foster, Matt Fritz, Jesse Gent, Andrew Green, Victor Guevara-Cano, Zach Hammersmith, Pam Handor, Ike Ikehara, Diana Kauveiyakul, Alex Koo, Naris Lankford, Amanda Maguinness, Tara Maguinness, James Majdanac, Joseph Martin, Jonathan Richter, Zach Shaw, Kirsten Staton, Marla “Elaine” Thornton, Stef Valladares, Paul Villaluz, Melissa Weekley, Mark Yonemoto, Katherine Zander and Sedona Zander.